327 | Who Needs a Cape

Sitting here at my desk. Reflecting on the events of the day.

Next thing I know, a song from Spotify distracts me from my train of thought…and it fills me with empathy.  It reminded me that hours earlier, the news of Chester Bennington’s suicide came across my Facebook news feed.  It’s tough to admit but it pains me to hear about someone who sees this as a solution to all their problems.   There is so much of this world to experience…and so much to share.

Deep down sometimes we really don’t realize the impact we all have on one another.  We think small moments to be trivial…but for someone who is suffering and trying to embrace life,  the simplest thing can make a difference.  Unfortunately, it’s difficult sometimes to see when people, friends, and family are in serious need of help (emotional or otherwise).

Live is hard.   Puberty, work, “adulting”, parenting…the trials and tribulations are enough to drive us nuts.  But now later in my life, I know anyone can be a hero.  Someone to look to.  Someone who can help drag us through the hardships of life and bring out the other side.  I wonder sometimes if that’s why many of the superhero movies are so popular right now.  Everyone’s looking to be rescued.  Looking for a beacon of hope or a figure to look up to.

I know I’ve had many great friends and family members who have helped me over the years (in ways you probably never knew or imagined).   I can only hope in some way in the past, I’ve been able to be there for someone else… a hero just for one day.

If you want to talk to someone or are experiencing suicidal thoughts, text the Crisis Text Line at 741-741 or call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255. Here is a list of international resources. 

Leave a Reply

