30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 14

challenge-day14I was perusing through some articles and I found an article written by an accomplished VFX (Visual Effects) digital artist who has worked on recent movies such as Independence Day: Resurgence, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Justice League, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 and Power Rangers. Even though he is new to the VFX industry, Paul H. Paulino has put together some impressive works of art.

Paul PaulinoWhat really “drew” me into the article was his candor and how he chronicled his journey to become a digital artist.  I was able to instantly identify with him.  His beginnings (other than our starting ages) and his attitude toward learning really seem to mimic my own. As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t consider myself much of an illustrator but I think I do have a handle on many of the basics of lighting, composition, and form. Of course, the last time I had any formal training on that was close to 25 years ago but I’m sure many of those concepts have not changed in that time. I can only hope that with time, effort, and a bit of luck, I too may be able to produce some really amazing pieces that I can share with others (and maybe one day share my success story to anyone who would listen).

quote

Thank you so much Paul for sharing your stories and advice regarding getting started!  I’m certainly hoping that these days one can still teach an old dog new tricks.

http://www.paulhpaulino.com/how-learning-new-skills-changed-my-career-as-a-digital-artist/

One thought on “30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 14

  1. Pingback: 30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 30 | A Daydreamer's Journey

Leave a Reply

