30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 4

challenge-day4Today’s challenge involved a bit of woodworking…digital woodworking that is.  As I get older, I’m finding more of an affinity for woodworking and arts & crafts projects. I don’t know quite where I am picking it up from.  Could be from the surge of input & ideas that I get from various social media venues (i.e. Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc). Might be something I picked up from my father (who was a woodworker himself and was involved with marquetry for some time).   Unfortunately, my personal and work commitments typically make it difficult for me to jump in these projects.  That, in itself, is one of the reasons why I committed myself to this 30 day challenge. Simply, a way to motivate and encourage myself instead of slacking off or getting distracted from getting to work on these projects.

In our basement, we have a smaller flat screen TV that didn’t fit into the hutch we had previously.  For the time-being, it’s just sitting on a few boxes.  Yea, I know…classy right? So of course I’d like to have something a little more formal to sit the TV and other electronics on.   I thought about going ordering something online from a website like Wayfair but there was a part of me that told myself, “hey I can do this. Why don’t I just make one myself?”  So, here we are.  I took out the tape measure and grabbed a piece of paper and a pencil to jot down all the various measurements.  At that point, I roughed up a general design for the TV stand.  Now, I would have been fine with just this…until I had what I could only term as a “Dad Moment”.  I loved my father but as those of us close to him knew, he was an obsessive planner.   I’m sure that’s where I get my need for “to-do” lists and such from.   So, I thought, why not use this project as an opportunity to learn SketchUp and create it digitally (which I’ve found is also done by other woodworkers as well).

So I think about a week ago, I sat down and pulled up a couple of YouTube videos on getting  started with SketchUp.  Within a short amount of time, I was able to get the basics under my belt and started on designing my TV stand.  So far, I’ve been impressed with the tools and the UI.  It’s easy to use and the ability to resize objects to exact sizes is really helpful.  In a relatively short amount of time, I was able to construct my TV stand (to scale I might add). Today, after a bit of tweaking to the objects as well as learning how to add texture to my objects, I was able to complete my work on this project (digitally that is).  Not too bad for a first time!   I’m looking forward to working more with this application on projects in the future.  🙂

So now, the fun begins.  Time to dust off the tools and get started on the real thing.  Excelsior!

2 thoughts on “30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 4

  1. Pingback: 30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 5 | A Daydreamer's Journey

  2. Pingback: 30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 30 | A Daydreamer's Journey

Leave a Reply

