30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 1

challenge-day1Currently this spring semester, I am taking a class with my wife and former colleague at the community college where I work.  It’s something I’ve always had sort of an interest but never really took a stab at it (mainly in the interest of time).  We are taking Intro to Video Game Design.  This class is part of a program curriculum to spark interest in students who aspire to become part of an industry which is booming right now. It’s been a lot of fun so far…and I’m looking forward to see how the class develops as the semester unfolds.

This evening’s class encompassed mostly taking care of the time-encompassing and taxing task of getting set up as a Apple developer and establishing provisioning, certificates, and connectivity for future development. After an unfortunate set-back at the tail end of the process, our progress was prematurely halted and spent the remainder of the class beginning to program with an application called GameSalad.  I’m sure I will talk more about it in the future. Suffice to say, just the few minor things we learned today in GameSalad really kinda blew me away.  I was impressed with the how easily the interface allowed us to put together a scrolling starfield with flying asteroids (which I think we all pretty much agreed looking like meatballs). Unfortunately, I don’t have anything to display today but that is something I hope to alleviate in the future.

One thought on “30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 1

  1. Pingback: 30-Day iLearn/iCreate Challenge: Day 30 | A Daydreamer's Journey

Leave a Reply

