A Little Close to Home

Today, according to reports a gunman opened fire on several people in the baggage claim area of the Ft. Lauderdale / Hollywood Intl. airport. At this time, five people have been reported killed and several others injured. It’s such a tragedy to hear about (no matter where it occurs).

While many have commented about how horrific & personal this was because it happened on American soil, for me it’s one of a few times that I could honestly say I guess like I felt a personal attachment to. My first thoughts that come to mind is the fact that just one week prior my wife and I were traveling through that very airport…PLUS the fact that we traveled through that very baggage claim area on our way to the Car Rental Center about 2 weeks prior to that. 

We’ve traveled to that airport many times in the past.  Never would I have thought something like this would have happened.  I could only imagine if we happened to be there when it occurred..whether it was in baggage claim, in the terminal, or aboard one of the flights on the ground. 

With time, the mysteries of today will unfold. I can only hope that some good can come out of all of this…and my heart goes out to all those who have been affected by today’s events.

Leave a Reply

