Shaping My Imagination

Albert Einstein“True art is characterized by an irresistible urge in the creative artist.”

~ Albert Einstein

About twenty-five years ago, I made one of the biggest decisions in my life. I guess you could call it one of those “blind faith” moments we all make at one point or another in our lives.  For me, it was making the conscious decision to change majors mid-way through college.  It was a weird and nerve-racking experience.  It was like when you were a kid and you asked yourself, “what did you want to be when you grow up?” And then some tells you down the road when you grow up, “Well. That’s not gonna quite work out for you after all.” And so, you find yourself in a state of an identity crisis. Upon reflection, I saw this moment as an opportunity to re-invent myself…to reshape my future.

Believe it or not, I was shaping myself up to be… a commercial pilot.  Yep, that’s right. The thrill of flying, traveling abroad, and (at that time) good pay.  Just for the record, I’m really not the “girl in every port (or airport for that matter)” kind of guy…so that never really was a selling point for me. LOL.  But it appears that fate/destiny had a dealt a different hand for me. So on that day…roughly 25 years ago, I made the decision to become an artist/designer. It’s a decision that to this day I have not regretted.

Since that time, I have striven to learn many different styles and disciplines of media.  Over the past 25 years, I’m amazed to look back at the breadth and variety of skills I have been able to acquire. And yet, after all this time it’s still feels like it’s not enough.  My curiosity continues to feed my passion to explore, to improve.  So when Fall arrives…after all the leaves have fallen; the yard work has diminished, and we all begin to retreat indoors, my next digital adventure begins.

I will begin to explore a new skill:  3D (modeling/sculpting).  I have dabbled using 3D with applications such as Photoshop, Blender, and SketchUp (which has been really great for some personal woodworking & work-related projects).  Similar to painting, it’s something that seems a bit foreign (and in some ways a bit scary) to me.  Nevertheless, I am looking forward to the challenge.

So what brought upon this madness?  Kissed by a muse, perhaps?  I contribute a big portion of my interest to an amazing artist by the name of Justin Goby Fields.  I have mentioned him about 7 months ago (Breaking the Mold).  I’m happy to say I’m the proud owner of a new Mac which should be able to handle breaking in Zbrush.  Over the next year or so, I hope to move from a learning role to commercial applications.  It will be quite the journey. For those interested, I’m sure I will be dropping a few comments and pieces along the road.

One day, I had a curious thought.  With the ability to create 3d models, was it possible for me to 3d print my work.  I came across a website called Shapeways which specializes in shapeways.comcreating & selling 3D printed materials.  I was quite amazed at not only being able to reproduce my own work but the variety of designs, materials, and detail of the 3D-printed products that were available through the website.  One of the things that caught my eye was miniatures.  Being a old-school RPG gamer, this immediately peaked my interest. Anyway, I’d suggest checking it out!  They also have jewelry, art, accessories, games, and more.

Well, that’s about it for now! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

