State of Emergency

“Gov. Bruce Rauner’s “Turnaround” agenda is working. Public universities and colleges are being dismantled, public services are being reduced or eliminated, employee rights are being diminished, and out-of-state migration escalates.”

~ Melody Allison, Charleston

 

money-rollCouldn’t have said it any better myself.  I, like many citizens in the state of Illinois, are really feeling the pinch of the state’s dire fiscal predicament.  Working for a local community college, I am experiencing first-hand the effects of declining state appropriations, declining enrollment, and changes to the quality and expenses of health care as well as pension reform.

I would be lying if I didn’t say the whole thing is really starting to concern me. I’ve had my days of contemplating “jumping ship” and starting a new chapter in another state.  But I realize, it’s just not that easy. There are so many things to take into account…and so many changes.

  • Moving. Ugh…the thought of having to pack up our house and moving into a new house.  (Sorry, Karen & Mike.)
  • Selling our house & leaving the area
  • Finding a new job.
  • Leaving family and friends
  • All the hassles of updating all the little things we take for granted now, such as doctors, dentists, driver’s license, car registration, utilities, etc.

This coming from a guy who has been resistant to change for most of his life.

But we all have our breaking point. We all, from time to time, have to take a step back and take a look at our lives and say, “Am I happy? Is this worth it?”

Lately, I’ve had friends…neighbors who have taken the big plunge and made the big step to move on. I’m sorry to see them go but I understand their reasons for leaving.

I don’t know what the future has in store for me.  I look at it this way.  I can either succumb to the fear of the unknown or I can embrace the thought that the future is another chapter waiting to be written…by me.

Leave a Reply

