You know what they say about payback…

Sports rivalries are a real thing.  It’s not just an American phenomenon but a global issue. It’s amazing how people can get so wound up around competitive sports.  I guess there is something to be said about taking pride in something, supporting a local team, or bonding with others in a common struggle.

packersbearsI am not an egotistical person…not someone who enjoys boasting.  Yet, I feel the need as someone who has been a loyal Chicago sports fan to share my enjoyment.  I have to say as a Chicago Bears fan, this past holiday’s win (as well as this past year for that  was a sweet victory.  In a Thanksgiving Day match-up, the Chicago Bears won over the Green Bay Packers 17-13.  To add insult to injury, it was also the night Brett Favre’s number was retired (i.e. Brett Favre night).

Last year, my wife and I went to Lambeau Field to watch a Packers / Bears rivalry game.  The Bears were pummeled 55-14 (Packers scored six touchdowns, the Bears scoreless by halftime).  The treatment I got from Packers fans only added to my pain and humiliation.  One of the few times in my life I just wanted to crawl out of my skin and escape.

So, I feel a little bit of justice has been served.  Maybe the Packers will understand how we must have felt the night Dick Butkus was being honored.

That all being said, I hold no ill feelings.  It’s a game. It’s a competition.

Leave a Reply

