Music to my ears

“Music in the soul can be heard by the universe.”  ~ Lao Tzu

Contrary to my last name, I do not consider myself a musician or composer by any right.  Although I can say I do enjoy a wide variety of music styles and I “think” I have some musical and artistic talent.

One of my many personal projects is the development of a mobile app game for iOS.  I’ve been working on it for quite some time (it’s a tough job fitting in time to all the roles which include:  creator, designer, producer, artist, programmer, and composer).

Over a year ago, I started tinkering around with the idea of an intro theme for the app.  Now, mind you, I don’t have any experience in music theory or composition so for me, my expectations for my musical arrangements are pretty low.  That being said, I didn’t let that stop me.

garage-band-logoBeing a Mac guy, I’ve had access to GarageBand (a whole music creation studio — with a complete sound library that includes software instruments, presets for guitar and voice, and virtual session drummers) for quite some time but I never got around to finding time to try it out.  Well, I couldn’t think of a better situation for me to dive right into it than to tinker around and see what I could come up with.

I messed around with it a bit on my own…before resorting to reading some tutorials (hey, I’m a guy…it comes with the territory).  After a few test tracks and some editing, I came up with something I felt had some merit for a first try. I thought I would share it with you all.  I would be interested to know what you think.  Enjoy!

FYI: The premise of this piece is an intro for a SciFi app.    Annnnnnnnnnnddddd scene!  *clapper*

Leave a Reply

