Doodling

As a designer, I’m always fascinated with different art techniques and tools.  As I have mentioned before, from time to time I like to relax with a good coloring project.  It’s really a great way to focus, create, and have fun.

A while back, I downloaded an free app for my iPad called Autodesk SketchBook Express (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sketchbook-express-for-ipad/id410871280?mt=8).  It’s a great little application.  I have to say Photoshop makes digital coloring a bit easier with some of it’s tools but overall I was quite pleased with the app.  Lots of simple tools to choose from.  Check out the link above for more information.

So I created this little guy.  I started by importing the black & white line art onto one layer…and then created another layer above to do my coloring.  I did this in a couple of sittings but I think it took me about 1 hr – 2 hrs for my first go-at-it.  Cute little bugger.

Minion

Minion

Leave a Reply

