Fan-tastic (Part 2)

Star Wars:  Episode VII has not only awakened the force, but also stirred up social media (Facebook & Twitter) all over the world as well.  It’s amazing to think what kind of effect social media may have played way back in ’77. But I guess for me at a young age back then, social media was either recess time, lunch time in the cafeteria, or on the playground.

Like many, I was a fanboy from the start.  I have many fond memories going over to my childhood friend Kent’s house and playing with our Star Wars figurines and model spaceships.  We had many great adventures.  I’ve kept a good number of those old toys (and acquired many additions over the years).  Looking back, I guess I wish I would have kept better care of them.  God only knows how valuable they would be now.  On the hand, they brought so much fun and entertainment way back when I’m not sure if I’d want to give that up.  I mean really, could you rightfully convince a child NOT to play with a toy they desperately wanted…on the chance that in 30 to 40 years, it might be worth a lot of money to someone.  I know, fat chance!

Sears Wish Book - Star WarsBoy, I remember fondly around holiday time my mother would ask my sister and I for ideas to give to Santa Claus. Of course, back then we didn’t have the Internet, Amazon, eBay, etc.  What we had were… catalogs.  JcPenney.  K’s Merchandise.  The Sears Wish Book.  *sigh*  Ah, the memories!  I can almost hear Jean Shepard (A Christmas Story) narrating about how I felt…sifting slowly through the pages of the toy section.  As I reflect, I guess deep down I hoped that I would be able to share a similar experience..share my love for Star Wars with my son or daughter.  Unfortunately, I guess I’m just not that blessed.

So almost 40 years later, we draw close now…anxiously awaiting the arrival of another chapter in the Star Wars theatrical story.  It’s hard not to get too antsy or put it on a pedestal too high to reach.  Perhaps Episode 7’s title should have been more aptly named… “A New Hope” (for those of us who had a hard time getting through Episode 1: The Phantom Menace).

I’d like to give a big thanks to YouTube creator oskararnarson, whom I think has masterfully crafted an edit of Matthew McConaughey from Interstellar and in my opinion mimicked how many die-hard Star Wars fans felt when the first SWE7 trailer originally appeared. To date, this video has over 10 million views.

Leave a Reply

