A Tribute to a Comedic Icon

To quote from Whitman, ‘O me! O life!… of the questions of these recurring; of the endless trains of the faithless… of cities filled with the foolish; what good amid these, O me, O life?’ Answer. That you are here – that life exists, and identity; that the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. That the powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?“

While later on today the world will find out the results of the autopsy reports, the entertainment industry and many people like myself are still in shock with the news of Robin Williams’ death. Initial reports indicate that he died from an apparent suicide. It’s hard to understand a man so full of life and laughter could do such a thing. Although it’s not secret that Robin has been battling drug addiction throughout his life. Just a short time ago, he admitted himself to a treatment facility as an effort to “strengthen his resolve” but I wondered if it might be more than just a checkup. Apparently friends close to him have said in the last day he was suffering from severe depression.

It’s so sad to see a man so talented and selfless suffer from his demons (which it seems got the best of him at this point). Part of me wishes I could understand his pain. Was it fame? Was it addiction? Was it something more?

Robin Williams is always one of those people that I would have died to meet. To spend an afternoon or evening with him sharing his wisdom and wit would have been a truly amazing experience. I am truly saddened by his passing…but it truly astounds me how much love and sentiment is being expressed by so many around the world.

Robin taught me how to be a kid AND an adult. He taught me free association of thought. He taught me laughter. He taught me to find my own path. Amazing how much of an impact a funny man from Chicago can have. Truly illustrates the notion of how one man can change the world.

I miss you, Robin. Godspeed and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

