From the heart…

About a month ago, I had the opportunity to be the Best Man at my best friend’s wedding.  As most weddings I assume, it was filled with tension, stress, excitement, relief, and most of all love!  As Best Man, it was my responsibility to help my best friend survive AND enjoy his happy day with his new bride.  It was a crazy day (thanks to Mother Nature) but everything went smoothly…except for one little thing.

A part of my duties as Best Man is to give a speech to the wedding party and guests.  Now, public speaking is PARTICULARLY NOT one of my strong suits but I’m getting better over time.  Knowing that, I prepared a speech ahead of time and rehearsed it a few times before the wedding day.  As the Groom, groomsman, and ushers dressed and prepared, I made sure to slip a copy of the speech into my inner pocket.

We got through the photos…made it to the altar…and had a beautiful ceremony. After the ceremony was over, we went outside to begin the receiving line. Met many of the family and guests (some whom I’ve never met before). Once the receiving line had finished, we journeyed back inside to prepare the entrance to the tent where the reception was being held (the wedding & reception were held close by).  As we got ready, I did one final check…only to realize…my speech was missing!  Of course, I started freeking out…trying to retrace my steps but I knew I was very limited in what time I had. Long story short, no luck.  Couldn’t find it!  At that point, it started to feel like a nightmare… all eyes on me and no speech to be found.

Amazingly, I pulled it together…went over the speech in my mind…and quickly picked out the high points.  Next thing I know, the microphone was being passed to me by the DJ. My mind goes blank. And in the moment, I let go of my fears…admitted my goof, and let my words lead the way.

Anyway, from the response I got, apparently I did well (although I feel like Robin Williams spiel on his Oscar win monologue). I was happy my  extemporaneous speech was well received by both the wedding party and the guests.  But afterwards, I was felt with not a sense of embarrassment…but regret.  I was very happy of the speech that I had put together and was looking forward to sharing with everyone at the reception.

So after it was all over, I wanted to make sure the happy couple could see and share the heartfelt thoughts and words I prepared for them on their special day.  You know who you are…THIS ONE’S FOR YOU!  Luv you guys!


Best Man’s Speech

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Gary and I have known Gary Cooper for almost 30 years.  We have often joked over the years that we were “brothers from another mother”.

For those of you who DO know me, I am typically a man of few words…so rest assured I won’t subject you to a long drawn-out speech.  But I would be amiss if I did not share a few things about the happy couple.

As you know, Gary and I have known each other for quite sometime and have been close friends through thick and thin.  I remember when Gary first started dating Lisa.  We were playing racquetball…taunting one another (while each of us dragged the other around the court). I remember him sharing some of the details about his date with Lisa…their walk along lake Decatur..and that first perfect kiss!

I could tell something was different from the tone of his voice and the way he described their time together.  I could really tell it truly sounded like the beginning of something special.

Later on, my wife and I got to meet Lisa…and enjoyed her infectious smile and youthful laughter.

Over time, I’ve gotten to know more about Lisa.  During the time Gary and Lisa have been together, many people (including ourselves), have noticed how much Lisa has come out of her shell, experienced many new things, and embraced change.  Last summer, Gary and Lisa joined my wife Brenda and I during our trip to the Florida Keys.  In preparation for the trip, Gary who is a scuba diver, rented time at a local dive shop pool to refresh his skills. Lisa, who never really learned how to swim, not only joined us IN the pool but also ventured out into the ocean to snorkel with everyone.  Needlesstosay, we were quite happy and amazed at her willingness to participate.

This last Christmas, my wife and family were vacationing down in the Keys.  I received a text from Gary telling me he was going to propose to Lisa on Christmas Day.  We were very touched when he said that he wanted to videochat and share this with his “extended family”. So late Christmas morning, we skyped with Gary & Lisa (with Lisa’s family in the background) as they told us the happy news.  Of course, they were both glowing..and it was quite evident the love they share with one another.

Having been married for over 13 years myself now, I know how wonderful it is to have such a special bond with someone, and I’m so happy Gary & Lisa have found that bond with each other.

Lisa, you look so beautiful…and I can’t thank you enough for how happy you have made Gary.  I must say that I have not seen Gary happier than when he’s been with you.

Lisa…Gary, I wish you both much happiness and joy as you go forward and begin your lives together as a married couple.

So please, everyone raise your glass so that we may toast the bride and groom on their special day.  I would also like to thank:

  • the parents of the bride and groom
  • the whole wedding party
  • Reverend Hayes
  • Secret Recipes
  • Complete Music
  • Ohmygosh Cakes
  • Shirley’s Flower Shop
  • Piper Glen Golf Club
  • My lovely wife Brenda for the wedding photography
  • And especially all the friends and loved ones who helped out putting this magical event together and all those here to help share & celebrate this special day with us.

Congratulations…and cheers!


p.s.  The speech was found about 30 minutes later.  It was sitting at the table next to mine.  I have NO recollection of taking the speech out of my pocket…and just completely baffles me.  Cést la vie!

2 thoughts on “From the heart…

  1. This was so beautiful and I cried reading it too. The first part made me remember how I felt when I had lost my speech at your wedding. I do not say you are a friend or best friend, for you are truly my brother. And a better one I could never ask for. Till the day we die and the eons after. All my love brother Gary.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

