Giving Thanks – Day 10

I am thankful for my education!  Even though I was never really a great student, I have always had a thirst for knowledge. Thanks to the Internet, I am constantly researching and browsing through different things.   Call it a digital quest of sorts!  I have a very eclectic style by nature so many times I wander searching for videos, stories, tutorials, etc… in an effort to satisfy an intellectual curiosity or simply learn a new skill.

When I was a kid, I found school to be stressful for me. Kind of ironic that now here I am working at my second university job now…mentoring faculty and students.

I really am thankful I finished up my Master’s Degree.  It was a long journey (much longer than it should have been) but it feels so good to have that behind me.  Before I finished, it really was one of those things that felt like a big weight on your shoulders or a bird nipping at your neck all the time. For a long time, I put many things ahead of my education (like family, work, pets, etc) because I felt it was the right thing to do…but in the end, I realized that I needed to refocus and put some attention on myself to finish up my degree.  I knew that I needed to complete my degree if I were to progress professionally at the university…but in the end, it was more about a personal journey and finishing what I had started.

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”
~ Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

