What’s In A Name?

I was going through my email inbox struggling to start my digital spring cleaning early (cabin fever is starting to take its toll) and I managed to find an email I was sending to Brenda about names for our puppy.   Although it could be disputed that I was the one that thought up the names for our other two pets, it seemed at the time like the task was being laid on to my shoulders to come up with a good name for our new Corgi puppy!

We decided early on that we were going to try to stay to a Island/Caribbean/Paradise motif with the naming.  It all started with our lil kitty… Calypso.  Then, years later, Brenda and I got our first puppy (a corgi, of course!) and named him Tiki.   While lil Ms. Calypso is still around, we unfortunately lost Tiki about a year ago to cancer.  It was very difficult because it was taking him slowly until he started losing quality of life. I know that he is still with us in our hearts…and I hope one day we will be reunited.

So, for some reason, we were having difficulties coming up with names…SO for future reference, here are some of the names that were thrown out there into the hat.

  • Kona
  • Sasha
  • Corona
  • Tahiti
  • Coral
  • MaiTai
  • Mimosa
  • Kiara
  • Lani
  • Largo
  • Savannah
  • Pearl
  • Marina
  • Lorelei
  • Aurora
  • Coconut
  • Malibu

And the winner of the Pet Name contest was….. NONE of the ABOVE!

LOL…we decided after much debate that our lil girl would be named… LILO (Lilo & Stitch).  Go figure!

Leave a Reply

