You Are The Pan

I was sitting on the couch watching TV… contemplating my end of my 30’s and the beginning of the journey into my 40’s. I have to say that lately I have been blasé about my birthday (and the fact that I’m getting older). I mean, there’s really nothing I can do about it. Not like I can just stop time. But in some respects I should be thankful that I’m still here on planet Earth…enjoying time with friends and family and savoring the beauty of life.

I began flipping through channels and then…blam! It was one of the moments where you see a clip from a movie and it seems to speak to you. For me, one of those movies is Hook. For those of you who have seen it, the scene was were Peter Banning is with the Lost Boys asking them for help to rediscover himself (and Rufio creates a line in the dirt with the sword to see which side the Lost Boys are on). Of course, there are many different scenes in the movies which touches me on an emotional level.  But I thought it was kind of ironic considering the timing of it all that this particular scene, this particular movie, came up when it did.  Needlesstosay, it brought out those repressed feelings that I think we all have that come out in the Peter Pan stories.

The loss of innocence…

The energy and excitement of being a child…

Traveling back to the days when your mind was filled with imagination and wonder, looking on the word with fresh young eyes…

The perception of cruelty, anger, bitterness, and evil that comes with maturity…

Now, I know there are those out there that say that Hook is a terrible movie (i.e. rotten tomato) but I’m not a harsh critic when it comes to a movie. I can enjoy just for what it is.  I could do several posts just on movies…and who knows maybe I will. But the movie Hook is one of those movies you watch that brings out the child in you.  And it’s seems so poignant dealing with the dyadic issues of being a child and being an adult.  Simply put…it’s an affirmation to stay a child at heart. 🙂

Mr. Bloom: The day we stop playing is the day we start getting old.
Twilight Zone: The Movie (1983)

So, I plan to spend the next 40 years, eyes wide open and ears like a hawk, finding new things to explore and appreciating all the good things that I have in my life.

“To live… to live will be an awfully big adventure.”

Leave a Reply

